When you hear the word Love, what other words come to you? 
For me, it’s compassion and respect.
My father used to say, if you have to choose between love and respect, choose respect first because without respect the Love you will receive, will not serve you. It took me a few life experiences to understand exactly what he meant.
Then compassion is crucial to Love,  ourselves and others. It’s very interesting to see that sometimes we are not compassionate with ourselves, a constant critic creeps up in our heads to keep us limited. We yearn for outside love not realizing that we came a long way. Have you ever noticed that it is easier to be compassionate of someone else, and be extremely critical of ourselves for the same?

In this month of love, I propose more authentic LOVE expression all around.
There is a book called The Five Love Languages, by Gary Chapman. It outlines 5 ways you can demonstrate and receive love. Your predominant way and how to improve your relationships with others.
I always found that interesting that there are 5 different ways to express love, here they are:

Acts of service (devotion)
Affection (physical touch)
Quality Time
Words of Affirmation

Interesting, isn’t it?  Since we all have a predominant way of expressing LOVE, it is essential to know what that is and communicate how we want to receive and give more of it. So what is your favorite way of expressing love? 
When is the last time you did something loving for yourself?

Since my dominant Love Language is physical touch, one of my favorites ways of showing self-love is through an Ayurvedic hot oil self-massage « Abhyanga » that I give myself daily, either morning or night.

The more you care for yourself in a loving way, the more love you attract in your life. It’s quite amazing to see how our emotional bank account fills with love, and starts to increase with only a few acts of self care everyday. I recommend self care daily, as it is one of the best investments you can make for yourself.

Leave a Comment: